AGDA Mentor Program – 2010

10 07 2010

For the second year running, I am again participating in the Australian Graphic Design Association’s Mentor Program.

At a recent Mentor Program Launch lunch at The Good Life Organic Pizza on Hutt Street (I can highly recommend the duck pizza!) I was paired up with my new mentor student, an enthusiastic and talented young designer by the name of Aaron Harvey (not to be confused with my good mate Aaron Harvey from Perth, who’s creative in the area of plumbing rather than graphics).

In my own final year of University studies, 15 years ago, I was assigned a mentor who I visited each month for a few tips for how to get a start in my career, advise on my portfolio of work and a few grounding truths about the ‘real world’ beyond university. I found this extremely helpful at the time and it certainly helped put me on the right track for a career that I have enjoyed greatly so far, one that has let me travel the world while honing my creative skills in an area of work that I am passionate about. (Thanks Stephen Castledine!). I hope I can be of similar assistance to Aaron.

In his own words:

Aaron is currently completing his honours degree in a Bachelor of Design (Visual Communication), dedicating his year to the investigation of meaning formation in design practice. Aaron is concept driven with a keen interest in corporate identity, packaging and interactive design and occasionally makes the odd collage. He is young and enthusiastic about design and is looking for experience and a break into the industry.

email: aaronharvey@live.com.au
phone: +61 405 211 490

If anyone’s seeking a talented young designer with an eye for detail and a passion for the industry, please drop him a line. You can see a few examples of Aaron’s creative designs below:

Lulliloo greeting cards, self-directed project – Aaron Harvey

Ladykiller wine label. Inspired by teen idols of the 1960’s – Aaron Harvey

DIY Poster Pack, promoting sustainable working practices to graphic designers. Winner of the DIA Australasian Student Design Awards, Visual Design – Aaron Harvey

Boydsta!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

